loading Skip to Main Content

B.E.S.T. (Building Emotional Strength Together) is the Healthy Youth Initiative's youth suicide prevention committee. Members focus on helping teens understand and manage depression, anxiety and stress, work with the school district and community to reduce bullying and harassment, and help everyone by removing the stigma of mental illness in teens and others.

Alison Cathro, R.N., Co-chairs B.E.S.T.  Alison is a school nurse at Tiger Mountain Community High School and Cascade Ridge Elementary School, and former president of the Washington State Forensic Nurses Association.  Kaylee Jaech, Co-Chair, is the Interim Executive Director for the Issaquah Schools Foundation.  She also chairs the Teen Cafe Exploratory Committeee.

Other members of B.E.S.T. include:
Dea Barnett
​Christy Becker
Trish Bloor
Judy Brewer
Pat Castillo, ex officio
Karen Crowe
​Sarah Dochow, Crosspath Counseling
Carly Griffin, student representative
Ingrid Jarvis
David Kim, student representative
Danny Ko, student representative
Suzie Kuflik
Caileen Lee, student representative
​Callie Mejia, student representative
Gena Palm, Friends of Youth
Allison Sheflo, student representative
​Shari Tokumi
Theresa Winther, Sound Mental Health

Organizational Partners:
Crosspath Counseling​
Friends of Youth
​HERO House
​Issaquah Youth Advisory Board
National Alliance on Mental Illness - Eastside chapter
Sound Mental Health
University of Washington, Forefront
YSSP Youth Suicide Prevention Program

To support the emotional needs of students in our community, learn about volunteer opportunities though our volunteer inquiry form

Click Here to Donate to BEST






Fueling Success for Every Student, Every School